Getting EVA airline mileage into United mileage plus

I am going to take EVA air. I have an United mileage plus account. However, it seems EVA is not a Star Alliance Member. After some search, I found this could be a good solution by using the relationship between EVA- Continental-United:

  1. Sign up for a Continental OnePass member. http://www.continental.com/web/en-US/apps/account/enroll.aspx
  2. EVA is one of Continental OnePass partner. Please see http://www.continental.com/CMS/en-US/marketing/custcomm/promotions/Pages/AirlinePartners.aspx
  3. Use the OnePass to get mileage while flying EVA. The mileage is counted as documented in here. https://www.continental.com/web/en-US/content/onepass/elite/qualify.aspx
  4. Then convert OnePass mileage to United mileage plus as documented here. Thanks United for merging with Continental. https://secure.unitedmileageplus.com/MP1101OPTM.jsp. This blog also is very useful http://frequentlyflying.com/continental-and-united-airlines-mileage-transfers-plus-elite-status-match-consolidation

I will come back to update my success (or failure) after taking the EVA flight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting EVA airline mileage into United mileage plus

  1. Debu Dasgupta says:

    I fly frequently on business btween India and US. When I lived in the US, I used to be a Mileage Plus member. Since moving back to India I became a member of Lufthansa Miles and More program. I normally use that number for ALL Star Alliance flights, including the last one in Sep 2010. However, for my latest trip (in March 2011) I decided to use my Mileage Plus number. I was in for a surprise when the miles got credited. I got HALF the Base miles on UA as I got on LH when I flew the SAME flight number between the SAME cities in the same Class Z (Business Class), paying almost the SAME Money. When I wrote to UA they said they do not consider “Z class” as Business and Lufthansa’s policies were “different” than UA’s, and basically, that was tough. As an example, on flight LH 750 between Frankfurt and Calcutta, I received 9185 base miles in LH in Sep 2010, but 4599 miles on UA. Even on an atlas, it is closer to 9000 miles than 4500 . There is a ticket open (REF:12151345A) with UA to explain this where I have sent them a reply after they said inane things like “You cannot claim miles from 2 different airlines for the same flight”. Will keep you posted. But, it seems, switching to Miles and More will give members more miles for the SAME flights than UA.

  2. xzhang3 says:

    Update:
    It did not work for me. EVA requires standard priced ticket in order to take mileage into the continental one. I gave up!

  3. I do accept as true with all the ideas you’ve presented on your post. They are very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for beginners. May you please extend them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

